- 2014-10-22 08:57 Does each golf ball need to end up in its own container?
- 2014-11-03 19:54 Are parallel steps allowed this year?
No. By definition the actions and ETS are listed in the Action Sequence List in order, with one triggering the next. See rule 4.d.
- 2015-03-01 16:51 Parallel steps are not allowed. How is scoring affected when a device has a parallel step?
It is a competition violation since rule 4.a. says each golf ball must cause the next action.
- 2014-10-26 20:30 What constitutes an action/how are they different from a transfer?
A transfer is referring to an ETS (Energy Transfer Sequence), which is described in 4.b.
- 2015-03-01 16:55 What type of reaction is a rocket igniter? Would this be a E to C to T reaction?
No, rule 4. explicitly says a single component can contribute to only 1 transfer. Depending on how it's used, a rocket igniter could be listed as either E to C or E to T.
- 2014-11-13 21:45 Can microcontrollers, which are not computers nor integrated circuits, be used in the device?
No, microcontrollers contain integrated circuits and thus are prohibited.
- 2014-11-03 21:00 Under the rules for mission possible it states, "hazardous liquids...and unsafe chemical handling will not be permitted. What designates a liquid as hazardous or a chemical as unsafe?
That is up to the individual event supervisor to determine. It will be based upon common standards and processes, such as those found in a typical chemistry lab. In general, when in doubt, err on the side of caution.
- 2015-02-28 14:15 What is your definition of a fuse?
The type of fuse that is not allowed due to safety concerns is a chemically treated string that burns at a controlled rate (typically used in fireworks and explosives.) Teams are permitted to use electric fuses to limit current in a circuit.
- 2015-03-10 20:30 The device task explicitly says that the device has to "lift one or more golf balls into scoring jugs." What is the penalty for not lifting any golf balls in the device?
You would receive no points for golf balls. You are still eligible to receive points for time, ETS completion, etc.
- 2014-10-22 09:02 What is the difference between the Action Sequence List transfers and the Bonus Energy Transfer Sequences? When is which used, etc?
All actions/transfers must be included on the submitted Action Sequence List. The Bonus Energy Transfer Sequences must be included in the submitted Action Sequence List.
- 2014-12-01 20:54 What is your definition of jug?
We will be using the Merriam-Webster dictionary definition of a jug: "A large, deep container with a narrow opening and a handle."Per the posted Official Clarification on 3/3/5: A jug is defined as any plastic beverage container that has sides that are at least 10cm high. There is no requirement that the jug/container has or had a handle on it.
Per the rules, the jug must be made of plastic and also have been used for a beverage. Specific size of the jug is not defined.
- 2015-02-16 13:52 May the handle of a legal jug (plastic, used for beverage, has handle, >10cm tall) have the top cut off to enlarge the opening, such that the entire handle is removed, but such that it is more than 10cm tall?
Yes, the handle may be cut off the jug along with any portion of the jug more than 10cm above the bottom of the jug. The rules do not require the handle be intact above 10cm from the bottom of the jug.
- 2015-02-16 14:30 Are plastic beverage containers with molded indentations to grasp the bottle considered jugs?
No. A plastic beverage container with molded indentations instead of a handle is not considered a jug.
Yes, this would be allowed.
- 2015-02-16 14:11 Does the jug have to have a handle or can it be a bottle that has been cut?
No, a jug does not have to have a handle. Please see the posted Clarification.
The scoring container must be a plastic beverage jug per the rules and which had a handle per the definition of a jug posted as an FAQ on 12/1/14. The handle may be cut off at a point above 10 cm from the bottom of the jug. A bottle is not a jug and would not be legal to use as a scoring jug.
- 2015-02-28 14:35 Can the same battery be used in two different circuits (each circuit included in a different scorable ETS) without violating the rule of using a single complonent in only one scoreable transfer, or must different batteries be used in each circuit?
You may use the same battery in multiple transfers, provided it is energizing different components.
- 2015-03-10 21:42 The rules state "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." May an Action occur multiple times in different energy transfer sequences so long that it uses a different component each time, and still receive points?
Yes. The same type or similar actions may be repeated for scoring Energy Transfer Sequences, but the physical item can only be used once for scoring an Energy Transfer Sequence. Keep in mind that each scoreable ETS must be unique in the sequence of the transfers.
- 2015-03-10 21:51 What is your definition of a component?
A component is a physical part of the Mission Possible device. A commercial piece (component) with various transfers within this commercial piece (component) can not be claimed as individual transfers for an Energy Transfer Sequence.
- 2014-11-30 22:45 "A single Action or component must contribute to only one scoreable Transfer." Can the same component be re-used to lift multiple golf balls, or does each golf ball need to be lifted by an individual component?
Yes, the same component may be re-used to lift or move multiple golf balls unless the component is part of a Bonus Energy Transfer Sequence which would then be a "scoreable Transfer".
- 2014-10-26 20:42 If more than one golf ball is being sorted, do you just drop one in to start the device and the others are already placed in the device, or must all of them be dropped in?
The Start Task golf ball is the only one that is not in the device at the Start. All other golf balls must begin in the device.
at a point below the bottom of the lowest scoring plastic beverage jug.
- 2014-11-03 19:51 Does the starting golf ball have to end up in a scoring jug?
No, the starting golf ball does not have to end up in a scoring jug.
- 2014-11-03 20:57 Does the golf ball that starts the first action have to fall below the lowest container, then be lifted up and be dropped into a jug for the 2 points, or can it start the action and fall right into a jug?
The starting golf ball may start an action and fall into a scoring jug without going below the lowest container but it will not receive 2 points. To score 2 points, the starting golf ball must go completely below the lowest container and be lifted up by the device before dropping into a scoring jug.
- 2014-11-03 21:05 Can the first starting golf ball initiate an ETS?
Yes, the starting golf ball may initiate an ETS. Please see the posted FAQ regarding scoring 2 points for the starting golf ball.
- 2015-03-13 19:49 Can you turn on a motor and leave it on throughout the mission and have it lift golf balls? (A M-M transfer) And will it be allowed to lift golf balls part of ETSs, as long as they are still triggered in the appropriate manner?
This question has two parts. You may use a single, common motor to lift multiple golf balls but the golf balls must enter the jug individually. The motor must not be used in multiple ETS's.
- 2015-03-17 10:46 Must you use a different lifting motor for each ball that counts for an ETS?
A Team may share a single motor in their device to lift multiple golf balls, but a single motor must not contribute to the internal transfers on more than one ETS.
- 2015-02-28 15:05 Does the starting golf ball (the one that is dropped into the device) have to end up in a scoring jug if the team is NOT trying to get the two points for the golf ball?
- 2015-03-10 22:01 Can the golf balls be lifted above the jug all at once as part of the Start Task, and then triggered to drop into the jug one at a time, or does each one have to be lifted individually?
The golf balls can be lifted above the jug all at once as part of the Start Task, and then triggered to drop into the jug one at a time.
- 2015-03-10 22:13 When the golf balls are moved to the container, do they have to be fully inside of the container, or can they be sitting above the top of the container with the other golf balls under them?
They must be at least partially inside the container.
- 2014-11-03 20:14 Does the ENTIRE golf ball need to be completely below the jug, or does only part of the golf ball need to be below the jug?
Yes, all golf balls must start completely below any of the scoring jugs except for the first golf ball.
Yes, the ENTIRE scoring golf ball must at some point be completely below the lowest scoring jug before being lifted and dropped into a scoring jug.
- 2015-03-11 11:18 In regards to golf balls that are placed inside the device prior to the start task, can they placed above the bottom of the lowest scoring jug?
Yes, but they must be below the bottom of the lowest scoring jug at some point during device operation in order to count for points.
- 2015-03-10 22:25 The rules state, concerning scoring containers, "the sides must be at least 10 cm higher than the bottom of the scoring jug." Does this account for altering the orientation of the jug? Or must the sides simply be 10 cm tall when standing upright?
The height of the wall from the lowest point of the scoring jug in the orientation in the Mission Possible must be 10 cm or higher.
- 2015-03-11 11:15 Can the scoring jug with 10cm high sides be in any orientation or must it be vertical?
It can be in any orientation as long as the lowest point of the opening is always at least 10 cm above the lowest point of the jug.
- 2014-10-22 09:07 Can objects, other than scoring golf balls, be placed inside of the scoring jugs, provided that they do not alter the inside surface of the jug?
No, objects other than the
scoringgolf balls may not be inside the scoring jugs. The inside of the scoring jug may not contain any objects, excluding scoringgolf balls, throughout the duration of the run. Only allowed golf balls may be in the jug whether they receive 2 points or do not receive 2 points.
- 2014-11-05 14:23 What is the difference between the Action Sequences and the Bonus Energy Transfers?
Everything that happens in the device is an Action. Actions on their own don’t earn points. Transfers are when one form of energy is transferred into another form of energy. Transfers on their own don’t earn points. The only way a Transfer can receive points is if it is part of an Energy Transfer Sequence (ETS) as per the rules. Regardless of the points intended to earn, all Actions and Energy Transfers must be documented in the Action Sequence List (ASL).
- 2014-10-22 09:11 For two consecutive ETS will the golf ball at the end of first ETS be the same as the golf ball of the second ETS?
Yes, the ending ball from one ETS may be the starting ball for the next ETS. There does not need to be an intermediate step between two consecutive Bonus Energy Transfer Sequences. Keep in mind that there must be a golf ball triggering each ETS.
- 2014-10-26 20:52 It states that the ETS must be initiated by the PROCESS of a golf ball moving into a scoring jug, does this mean that as long as the starting golf ball starts the next ETS and falls in before the next golfball falls in, the ETS is scored?
- 2014-10-26 20:58 Do the initiating and final golf balls have to be eligible for scoring in order for an ETS to be eligible for scoring? Initiating and final referring to the golf ball starting the ETS and the golf ball released at the end of the transfer.
Yes, both the initiating and final golf balls must be eligible for scoring in order for an ETS to be eligible for scoring.
No. Neither the initiating nor the final golf balls need to be scoreable balls in order for an ETS to be eligible for scoring.
- 2014-10-22 09:13 Does an ETS have to be initiated by a golf ball specifically falling into a scoring jug (4.b, line 2) or simply initiated by a golf ball "Prior to entering a scoring jug (4.a, line 8)"?
The Bonus ETS must be initiated by the process of a golf ball moving into a scoring jug.
- 2015-03-13 12:45 "...a golf ball moving into a scoring jug (cannot be counted as an Energy Form)." If say the golf ball hits a mechanical lever while moving into a scoring jug, does this count as an Energy Form (Specifically mechanical)?
The golf ball hitting the lever would not be considered a transfer, but the lever could count as a mechanical energy form in the next action/transfer.
- 2015-03-13 12:45 Would a golf ball hitting a switch be counted as mechanical energy (both the golfball and the switch move) for a mechanical to electrical transfer?
- 2015-03-13 12:47 4b states an ETS must be initiated by the PROCESS of a golf ball moving into a scoring jug. Does the golf ball itself have to initiate the ETS? For example, a golf ball lifted by a lever could activate a switch, or the lever lifting the golf ball ...
The lever moving the golf ball activating a switch would be an acceptable initiation of the ETS.
- 2015-03-13 12:49 Does a small, factory made device count for an ETS (assuming all the transfers involved are visible)? For example, does a small relay that is turned on a quickly trigger a switch to close a circuit count as E-M-E when the transfers are almost imme...
No. Rule 4 explicitly states a single component can only count for 1 transfer.
- 2015-03-13 12:52 A previous answer stated that a sequence of "X to Y to X" and "X to Y to X to Y" are unique ETS, does it matter if the transfer is the same? To clarify: does mechanical energy NOT have to transfer to a different energy form each time?
No, the transfer may be the same type.
- 2015-03-13 19:50 Can more than one golf ball be moved at the same time if the movement is caused by only one action?
Yes, but they must enter the jug one by one and trigger ETS's individually.
- 2014-11-03 20:03 Would an ETS of “X to Y to X” be different and unique when compared to a sequence of “X to Y to X to Y to X”? What is the working definition of a unique ETS?
Yes, these would be different unique energy transfer sequences. A unique Energy Transfer Sequence is when the sequence of transfers are different from those of another sequence. This could include the addition or deletion of a transfer from another type of sequence already used.
- 2015-03-13 12:51 FAQ 2014 11-03 19:03 says a transfer of X-Y-X is unique compared to X-Y-X-Y-X. The Sample ASL says that one repetition of M-E-M is okay, but more than one repetition is not. Is FAQ 2014 11-03 19:03 in need of revision to state a limitation on repe...
That is not what the ASL states. It is simply saying that if you have X:Y:Z once, you can't have another purely X:Y:Z ETS. Repetitions are okay as long as they are inside unique ETS; the addition of -X to X-Y-X to make X-Y-X-X makes another unique ETS. Another X-Y-X by itself is not okay, because it is not a unique ETS.
- 2015-03-11 12:04 4.b says "An ETS can receive points only if....the ETS is successful in its entirety as listed in the ASL....". If a "touch" is required for an ETS to perform, can it still be considered "successful". Meaning can you receive the 50 points if you m...
No, teams only receive points for actions completed by the device. Anything the competitors complete themselves through a "touch" does not receive points.
- 2014-12-01 21:02 What defines a "buzzer"?
It is an audio signaling device producing a buzzing sound by vibration.
- 2015-03-13 13:08 Does the golf ball that triggers the buzzer need to be scoreable? If not, does it need to start below the jug?
No, the golf ball that triggers the buzzer does not need to be scoreable. To earn the bonus 2 points, the golf ball must at some point be completely under the jug before being lifted up.
- 2014-10-22 09:24 What is the specific definition of "immediately," as in "The last ball will count for points if it immediately drops into a jug"?
Immediate is not specifically defined in a tenth of a second or seconds so as not to put a burden on the Event Supervisor for timing. It is up to the Event Supervisor to determine the definition of "immediate". A team should not take chances of the ball taking more than 1-2 seconds.
- 2014-10-22 09:30 Only 6 Energy Task Sequences score points. Can any number of golf balls be given 2 points, though after the first 6, they use non-scoreable Actions?
Yes, any number of golf balls may receive 2 points with non-scoreable actions.
(section: 1 / paragraph: a / line: 4)
(section: 3 / line: 1)
(section: 3 / paragraph: d / line: 1)
(section: 3 / paragraph: g / line: 1)
(section: 3 / paragraph: i / line: 1-2)
(section: 3 / paragraph: i / line: 2)
(section: 3 / paragraph: N/a / sub-paragraph: N/a / line: N/A)
(section: 4 / line: 1)
(section: 4 / line: 2)
(section: 4 / line: 4)
(section: 4 / paragraph: 1 / line: 4-5)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / line: 1)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / line: 2)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / line: 3)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / line: 5)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / sub-paragraph: 2) / line: 4)
(section: 4 / paragraph: a / sub-paragraph: 3 / line: 5)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 1)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 2)
(section: 4 / paragraph: B / line: 2)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 2)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 3)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 4)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / line: 6)
(section: 4 / paragraph: b / sub-paragraph: 3 / line: 1)
(section: 4 / paragraph: c / line: 1)
(section: 4 / paragraph: c / line: 3)
(section: 5 / line: L)